Everything That You Need To Know About the Schengen Area

If you want to know the location of the Schengen map, you need to be in the Luxembourg village. Well, that was the historical place where some of the countries of the European Union (EU) met for a historical resolution.

To let you know further, the countries we are talking about are France, Germany, Luxembourg, and Belgium who met on 14th June of the year 1985 to make a major decision. The decision was a great fortune for workers as well as tourists of all the 26 countries of the European Union. If you still want to know about the matter in details, you should better continue to read this Blog until the last word comes.

  • What Is The Schengen Area?

As said, on June 14 of 1985, five countries of the European Union back then met at Schengen, which is in Luxembourg. Back then, the establishment of the area of Schengen happened separately from the European Economic Community. This was due to the fact that consensus was not possible to reach to the other members of the European Union on the abolishment of borders.

Gradually, after the drafting of an agreement by the Schengen Convention, one by one a lot of countries of the European Union started to admit its terms. Well, there were no hard terms and conditions as the main purpose was to abolish the internal borders.

  • What Was The Result Of The Schengen Agreement?

After the signing of the agreement, today the Schengen map is an area where people of 26 European states, who have signed can travel anywhere all across the region. They will need no Visa, no documents.

Thus, the abolishment of the internal and mutual borders ensures that the workers and travellers can swiftly travel through the states. For international travellers, the area acts as a single jurisdiction.

  • Who Are In And Who Are Not?

Out of the 28 European Union member states, 22 participate in the Schengen area. While Ireland and the United Kingdom chose to be out of this agreement, four of the six countries can join anytime in the future. They are Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania, and Cyprus. What is interesting is that four countries who are not even part of the European Union, but the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), signed to be in. They are Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland.

  • What Measures do they take As For Maintaining Security?

Before the agreement of the Schengen area, most of the borders had police patrols, which acted as checkpoints. But, that thing eradicated as soon as the agreement came into action.

So, if you are a traveller who lives somewhere among the participating countries, you will not need to show any official documents, except your any identity proof. However, the hotels have strict orders to register every single individual, whether he is a foreign tourist or belongs to any of the member states, to fill a form by his own hands.

These were pretty much everything that you need to know before travelling to the Schengen area in your holidays.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *